Molluscan Biology and Taxonomy

Vidya, R and Venkatesan, V and Mohamed, K S (2019) Molluscan Biology and Taxonomy. In: Advances in Marine Fisheries in India, 18-23 February 2019, Kochi.

Training manual on Advances in Marine Fish Production in India_2019_Molluscan biology and Taxonomy.pdf

Download (1MB) | Preview
Related URLs:


    Molluscs belong to the large and diverse phylum Mollusca, which includes a variety of soft-bodied invertebrates well-known as decorative shells or as seafood. They range in size from less than 1 mm to more than 15 m (for example the giant squid) and their population density may exceed 40,000/m2 in some areas. Three classes of the phylum Mollusca namely, Gastropoda (snails, limpets, whelks and slugs), Bivalvia (oysters, mussels, clams, scallops, and cockles) and Cephalopoda (squids, cuttlefishes, and octopuses) are of fisheries interest. About 3270 species have been reported from India belonging to 220 families and 591 genera. Among these the bivalves are the most diverse (1100 species) followed by cephalopods (210 species), gastropods (190 species), polyplacophores (41 species) and scaphopods (20 species).

    Item Type: Conference or Workshop Item (Other)
    Uncontrolled Keywords: mollusc
    Subjects: Molluscan Fisheries
    Marine Fisheries
    Divisions: CMFRI-Kochi > Marine Capture > Molluscan Fisheries
    Subject Area > CMFRI > CMFRI-Kochi > Marine Capture > Molluscan Fisheries
    CMFRI-Kochi > Marine Capture > Molluscan Fisheries
    Subject Area > CMFRI-Kochi > Marine Capture > Molluscan Fisheries
    Depositing User: Arun Surendran
    Date Deposited: 18 Jan 2020 10:44
    Last Modified: 18 Jan 2020 10:44

    Actions (login required)

    View Item View Item